(Deutsch) Brand Safety

Safety for brand and brand message

The certification of Brand Safety

Whether a digital campaign is effective is by no means just a question of reach. The how and where of the advertising placement is also essential. Especially for the marketing of brand products, the quality of the advertising environment plays a central role. After all, advertising messages that find themselves in the context of calls for violence, justiciable incitement, or immoral content can severely damage a company’s image.

Brand safety has been on everyone’s lips for some time now. And it is by no means just about image aspects of registered trademarks. The topic is complex – and concerns both market-specific claims (Legal Safety) and brand-relevant claims (Brand Suitability).

Legal Safety comprises superordinate environments or content that must be taken into account and/or avoided by every advertiser, as they otherwise run the risk of violating the law themselves or not complying with advertising guidelines. The relevant legislation of each country must therefore be taken into account for Legal Safety and is a mandatory condition to be maintained.

The so-called Brand Suitability extends the basic conditions of Legal Safety to include the individual requirements of an advertiser. It encompasses all brand-specific safety requirements and also includes factors such as corporate identity and campaign or communication goals that go beyond legal safety. For example, content categories or certain domains can be excluded from advertising display, which is an optional security setting that can be enabled for advertising companies.

Code of Conduct for Brand Safety

In this context, a certification process for Brand Safety is very complex. At the same time, there is a very high demand in the market for viable solutions for safe brand environments. The Performance Values and Guidelines Commission (KLR) at agof has therefore decided to create a Code of Conduct for Brand Safety as a preliminary stage for a later certificate.

This is intended to define principles and criteria for dealing with Brand Safety on the Internet. The voluntary commitment includes guiding and targeted regulations for direct buyers/sellers, indirect buyers/sellers, and verification and technology providers. The Code of Conduct will cover both traditional IO business and any form of programmatic purchasing as well as programmatic delivery.

The signatories oblige themselves to comply with the defined criteria and principles for their respective market area and to encourage their contractual partners to do likewise.

The Code of Conduct is currently being finalized and is expected to be available to the market in just a few weeks.*

*As of July 2021

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Brand Safety

Sicherheit für Marke und Markenbotschaft

Die Zertifizierung von Brand Safety

Ob eine digitale Kampagne wirkt, ist keineswegs nur eine Frage der Reichweite. Auch das Wie und Wo der Werbemittelausspielung ist wesentlich. Insbesondere für das Marketing von Markenprodukten spielt die Güte der Werbeumfelder eine zentrale Rolle. Denn Werbebotschaften, die sich im Kontext von Gewaltaufrufen, justiziabler Hetze oder sittenwidriger Inhalte wiederfinden, können das Image eines Unternehmens schwer beschädigen.

Brand Safety ist seit geraumer Zeit in aller Munde. Und es geht dabei keineswegs nur um Imageaspekte eingetragener Marken. Das Thema ist komplex – und betrifft sowohl marktspezifische Ansprüche (Legal Safety) als auch markenrelevante Ansprüche (Brand Suitability).

Legal Safety umfasst dabei übergeordnete Umfelder bzw. Inhalte, die von jedem Werbungtreibenden zu berücksichtigen und/oder zu meiden sind, da sie ansonsten Gefahr laufen, selbst gegen geltendes Gesetz zu verstoßen oder Werberichtlinien nicht zu einhalten. Die entsprechende Gesetzgebung eines jeden Landes muss demnach bei Legal Safety berücksichtigt werden und ist ein zwingend zu bewahrender Zustand.

Die sogenannte Brand Suitability erweitert die Grundbedingungen der Legal Safety um die individuellen Ansprüche eines Werbungtreibenden. Sie umfasst alle markenspezifischen Sicherheitsanforderungen und bezieht auch Faktoren wie Corporate Identity sowie Kampagnen- oder Kommunikationsziele ein, die über Legal Safety hinausgehen. So können beispielsweise Content-Kategorien oder bestimmte Domains von der Werbeausspielung ausgeschlossen werden, wobei es sich um eine optionale Sicherheitseinstellung handelt, die werbenden Unternehmen ermöglicht werden kann.

Verhaltenskodex für Brand Safety

Ein Zertifizierungsprozess für Brand Safety ist vor diesem Hintergrund sehr vielschichtig. Gleichzeitig besteht im Markt ein sehr hoher Bedarf an tragfähigen Lösungen für sichere Markenumfelder. Die bei der agof angesiedelte Kommission Leistungswerte und Richtlinien (KLR) hat daher beschlossen, als Vorstufe für ein späteres Zertifikat einen Verhaltenskodex für Brand Safety zu schaffen.

Dieser soll Grundsätze und Kriterien für dem Umgang mit Markensicherheit im Internet definieren. Die freiwillige Selbstverpflichtung umfasst richtungsweisende und zielgenaue Regelungen für direkte Käufer/Verkäufer, indirekte Käufer/Verkäufer sowie Verification- und Technologie-Anbieter. Der Verhaltenskodex wird sowohl das klassisches IO-Geschäft als auch jede Form des programmatischen Einkaufs sowie der programmatischen Auslieferung umfassen.

Die Unterzeichner verpflichten sich, die definierten Kriterien und Grundsätze für ihren jeweiligen Marktbereich einzuhalten und ihre Vertragspartner ebenfalls dazu anzuhalten.

Der Verhaltenskodex befindet sich derzeit in finalen Abstimmung und soll bereits in wenigen Wochen dem Markt zur Verfügung stehen.*

*Stand Juli 2021

Kommentare sind geschlossen.